Symphony No. 1 – Music for the Inner Ear (2016/2019)

Music begins where words end -so said Goethe.

Where words leave off, music begins - so spoke Heinrich Heine &

Jean Sibelius claimed that music begins where the possibilities of language end.

Symphony No. 1 is an entire symphony of 3 movements, described in text so the music unfolds itself as music forthe inner ear,challenging the dicta above, by claiming that Music begins when words begin.

The reader becomes listener becomer co-composers by creating music with their inner ear.

The symphony is released by Forlaget Vandkunsten

Finishing the symphony back in the spring of 2016 and after having 4 different layouts the symphony finally found its right form in collaboration Vandkunsten.

Symphony No. 1 consists of 3 movements; Moderato, Largo & Concerto for piano and microtonal crotales.
The Symphony inhabits multiple states at the same time - being in constant fluctuation between alphabet, word, language and meaning - & between book, score, written text and imaginary music.

The symphony can´t be approached from only one of these positions- the symphony inhabits all these states at the same time and is hovering within a superposition.

The ancient cycle of sounds transforming into words transforming back into sounds is summed up by Marshall McLuhan who stated that Man was given an eye for an ear.

Symphony No. 1 seeks to give back an ear for an eye.


It is not that easy though, to go into the imaginary utopia, and we are not trained to do so. Instead, we are often told that it is a foolish quest, and therefore we learn to pragmatic.

We learn to think out ideas and concepts that are obviously possible.

But why dream rational dreams?


Heard melodies are sweet, but those unheard

    Are sweeter; therefore, ye soft pipes, play on;

Not to the sensual ear, but, more endear´d,

    Pipe to the spirit ditties of no tone:


(Keats, Ode on a Grecian Urn)